Asked by SheweeGirl 24 months ago

Details:

is that a legitmate offer?


0
 Forward to friends
 Discuss this question (0 comments) why can't I answer? Report abuse

av-answers (3)
 
Show all details, Hide all details

"Looks like a scam to me. "

 by JBENZ on Jan 28 2008 (24 months ago)
Official Rating

It’s a spam trap if nothing else. They won’t let you look at the deal without an email address and a ton of personal information and consent to getting junk from them and their "partners" (which means who ever they sell you to). I'd bet that, once you give them all that you have to jump through a hundred hoops and all you'll get out of it is a lot of junk mail & spam.
Like this Answer?

"Not hardly."

 by knowware on Jan 28 2008 (24 months ago)
Official Rating

Didn't opt for testing any of the linking -- instead looked at the site through Proxify which brought up all sorts of alarms.  Note as well that when you look at any of the links on the page:

 

Terms and Conditions

Privacy Policy

Instructions and Gift Rules

Unsubscribe

 

They all follow the same one link.  Sounds like they just want you to push the button.

 

A whois search on the domain name shows they've only existed since January 8, 2008 -- so about three weeks.  Plus they've taken the additional steps to hide their real identity through a privacy service.  Not a bad thing for private parties, but why would legitimate companies need to disguise themselves?

 

Wouldn't get near it with a bad neighbor's browser.

 

Hope that helps!


knowware's Recommendations
Product Image
Amazon List Price: $12.95
Used from: $1.23
Average Customer Rating: 5.0 out of 5 (based on 14 reviews)
push-pin
Might be good reading.
Like this Answer?  (1)

"I think not"

 by joshbadams on Jan 29 2008 (24 months ago)
Official Rating

Since I just went to www.brandsurveycenter.com and it didn't connect; I would suspect there is something quite fishy :)

 

However, google has a cached page of what is probably the same offer:

http://preview.tinyurl.com/ytuxb4

 

That URL has the same PromoID but a different SID (not sure what that is, but the PromoID should be the important part).

 

This is one of those things where they make you visit all sorts of sponsors and jump through a thousand hoops. The "test and keep" tag sounds rather strange to me.

 

I seem to recall someone trying one of these "deals" for some cheaper product, and it didn't work out for them - it was never sent or something to that effect.

 

I'd steer clear, especially since the site seems to be down right now! These are the same kinds of places that offer free Wii's when no one can get a Wii :)

Sources: google and my past
Like this Answer?  (1)




Ask a question of your own: